FIBA's newly established 3x3 Commission convene for their first meeting of the working cycle

27 Feb 2020

MIES (Switzerland) - The 3x3 Commission held a one-day meeting at the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball, FIBA Headquarters, on Wednesday, February 26, which was the first for the new cycle of 2019 - 2023 and also the first for this new commission.

The 3x3 Commission is a newly formed group, not in place in the previous working cycle, and consists of 18 members who are former or current 3x3 players, officials, national federations representatives and private organizers. It is headed by Chairman Andrei Kirilenko and Deputy Chairman Ambrose Tashobya. 

The commission held discussions on a wide range of topics which included an update on the growth of the FIBA 3x3 World Tour and the entire FIBA 3x3 competition network, the qualification system for national team events, the FIBA 3x3 Federation Ranking and women in 3x3 - one of FIBA's priority strategic pillars.

The duties of the 3x3 Commission are:

Chairman Mr Andrei Kirilenko said: "I started my career as a basketballer playing outside on the street with my friends. 3x3 aligns with my life principles and I am very happy to be part of this commission and help to continue to grow and develop 3x3 around the world. 

I truly believe that 3x3 is the future of basketball and being involved in this commission takes me back to my youth and unites me with people who enjoy basketball.  The game has improved in all aspects and 3x3 is now an Olympic discipline and I am excited to be part of this movement.     

Today's first-time meeting was very productive, and this year is a very important year for 3x3, with its debut in Tokyo.  Everyone at the table today was involved and brought important topics to the meeting, and these topics were discussed at length. I really look forward to the next four years and being part of 3x3 as it continues its journey." 

The meeting was also attended by FIBA Secretary General, Andreas Zagklis and FIBA Executive Director Europe, Kamil Novak. 

The 3x3 Commission for 2019-2023 consists of:

Mr Andrei Kirilenko (RUS)            

Deputy Chairman                          
Mr Ambrose Tashobya (UGA)

Mr Peter Bodnar (HUN)
Mr Lothar Boesing (GER)
Mr Jay Demings (USA)
Mr Jiang Guan (CHN)
Mr Patrick Haynes (GUY)
Mr Martin Ho Suie Sang (NED)
Mr Michal Konecny (CZE)
Mr Hoang Bao Nguyen (VIE)
Mr Jerome Prigent (FRA)
Mr Giancarlo Sergi (SUI)
Mr Myagmarjav Luvsandash (MGL)
Mr Radu Petre (ROU)
Ms Mikiko Yasuda (JPN)
Ms Rae Lin D’Alie (ITA)
Ms Jasmina Juras (SRB)
Mr Michael Linklater (CAN)