Pools announced for FIBA 3x3 Asia Cup 2024

2 Feb 2024

SINGAPORE - Australia's (women) title defense launches with a blockbuster clash against rival New Zealand, while reigning men's champs Mongolia will eye a strong start  as excitement builds for the FIBA 3x3 Asia Cup 2024 on March 27-31. 

For the third straight year, Asia's biggest 3x3 event will be held in world famous Singapore with the seventh edition of the tournament set to be bigger and better than ever before. 

After going one step better during a dominant run last year, all-conquering Australia have a tough act to follow as they look to repeat as champions. In a Pool D blockbuster, Australia face New Zealand in a rematch of last year's final. 


Asian powerhouse China, who finished with bronze last year after beating Australia for gold in 2022, have top billing and are pitted against Chinese Taipei and host Singapore in an intriguing Pool A.

Second seed Japan will play emerging Thailand in Pool B, while Mongolia are desperate to break their medal drought and headline Pool C which also has Malaysia. 

The qualifying draw includes 2022 bronze medalist Indonesia, Philippines and Korea. 

Pool A: China, Chinese Taipei, Singapore
Pool B: Japan, Thailand, QD
Pool C: Mongolia, Malaysia, QD
Pool D: New Zealand, Australia, QD

Qualifying Draw A: Iran, Republic of Korea, Macau
Qualifying Draw B: Philippines, Kazakhstan, Maldives, Tahiti
Qualifying Draw C: India, Indonesia, Hong Kong, China & Northern Mariana Island  

In the men's, defending champs Mongolia will back up from last year's incredible triumph as they headline Pool B featuring Thailand. 


Top seed China will have to defy the home crowd against Singapore in a much-anticipated Pool A clash with the third team emerging from the qualifying draw. 

Japan's quest to break a title drought starts with a clash against fan favorite Philippines in Pool C, while last year's bronze medalist New Zealand opens against former champion Qatar in Pool D.

Three-time champions Australia, India and Korea are in the qualifying draw.  

Pool A: China, Singapore, QD
Pool B: Mongolia, Thailand, QD
Pool C: Japan, Philippines, QD
Pool D: New Zealand, Qatar, QD

Qualifying Draw A: Chinese Taipei, Iran & Hong Kong, China
Qualifying Draw B: Republic of Korea, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Northern Mariana Island
Qualifying Draw C: Australia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tahiti
Qualifying Draw D: Malaysia, India, Maldives, Macau